Beautiful Mess: The Story of Diamond Rio – Diamond Rio with Tom Roland

book coverHow have six guys managed to remain in the same band for over 2 decades? It’s hard to fathom, but country act Diamond Rio have managed it. Beautiful Mess is their story.

Before August 1996, I had never heard of Diamond Rio. That changed when I made my first visit to the USA, to a small Pennsylvanian town to stay with the family of my future husband. By the time I left two weeks later, I had It’s All In Your Head stuck in my head. You could say that Diamond Rio was my introduction to country music.

Beautiful Mess is worth reading primarily because it is written with the help of the band. You’re getting the story straight from the guys, without the rumors or crazy speculation that can appear in unauthorized biographies. Here you get the history of each band member and how they came to be part of the sextet. You get the highs and the lows, culminating with Marty Roe’s vocal problems during the last decade. My favorite chapter is Team Rio where the members exemplify the notion of paying it forward.

I plan on giving this biography to my mother-in-law, since she indirectly introduced me to the group. I hope she enjoys reading it as much as I did.

Publisher: Nelson Free

Pages: 288

Purchase on Amazon

Purchase on ChristianBook

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://booksneeze.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

