The 13: Fall, by Robbie Cheuvront, Erik Reed, Shawn Allen

book coverJoin CIA operative Jonathan Keene in a battle against America’s greatest enemy. Although initially investigating the disappearance of border agents along the US/Mexico border, Keene soon discovers another enemy waiting right at America’s doorstep. This enemy is swift—with sights set on something more precious than gold. As the US is pushed into a situation it hasn’t seen since its inception, Keene is forced to face a past he’d rather leave buried. Can Keene—and America—survive?

In 1997, I was temporarily incapacitated with a bad back. At the time, I wasn’t yet living permanently in the USA so I had very books with which to keep me occupied. I did, however, have a Tom Clancy novel. I read it quickly and immediately sent out my then fiancé (now husband) to find the next one. As a result, I became a fan of this type of dramatic fiction. The 13: Fall reminds me of Clancy’s novels, with a dash of the Left Behind series thrown in.

Before I go further, I’m going to suggest that Barbour might have a marketing problem on its hands. The official description of this novel doesn’t quite match the plot. While the publisher’s website and also Amazon focuses on the disappearance of border agents, another website suggests the plot is about illegal immigration. In actuality, Keene is asked to investigate a mysterious person called The Prophet who has been sending dire warnings to the President of the United States. The USA must repent of its sin or else it will be destroyed. Joining Keene in his investigation is Megan Taylor from the FBI and a former operative called Boz. Keene refuses to acknowledge the possibility that The Prophet is sent from God, while Boz is very open to the concept. With characters like these, you know that, at some point during the narrative, there’s going to be discussion about God and how He allows bad things to happen.

The premise of The 13: Fall is plausible, given current events. The United States is trillions of dollars in debt, and much of that debt is owned by China. Its military strength is being depleted, even as our brave men and women are sent all over the world. The National Guard is no longer only for national defense on home soil. The writing in this novel is average, but it was the idea that kept me reading. It’s set not that far down the road, in 2025. Could the United States really come under attack from China as supposed here? Could something like this happen because the country has turned its back on God? Is America beyond saving? I don’t know when the next book is due out, but I will be reading it.

Publisher: Barbour Publishing

Publication Date: 01 September 2012

Page Count: 320

Publisher’s Product Page   Amazon   Barnes and Noble   Christianbook.com

I downloaded my free copy of The 13: Fall from Barbour Publishing on the NetGalley website. I was under no obligation to write a review.

Leave a Reply

