Firefly Island, by Lisa Wingate (With giveaway!)

book cover

Want to win a copy of Firefly Island? Check out the contest at the end of my review.

Mallory Hale’s life quickly veers off course when she falls hopelessly in love. After a whirlwind romance, Mallory finds herself leaving the bustle and action of Capitol Hill for the remote town of Moses Lake, Texas–with husband, stepson, and a U-Haul in tow.

A sweet, mishap-filled journey into marriage, motherhood, and ranch living ensues, and Mallory is filled with both the wonderment of love and the insecurities of change. But what she can’t shake is the unease she feels around her husband’s new boss, Jack West. Jack’s presence–and his mysterious past–set her on edge, and when hints of a scandal emerge, Mallory finds herself seeking answers . . . and comes to realize that the middle-of-nowhere home she wasn’t sure she wanted is the very place she’ll risk everything to save.

Firefly Island begins with Mallory looking back and the reader is immediately invited to ask what happened? What happened of such significance that Mallory is now being asked to do an interview with CNN? I asked that question and was immediately reeled in.

I found myself drawn to the characters. I understood the loneliness Mallory experienced when she left behind everyone she knew before she met Daniel. Anyone who’s moved because of her husband’s job can perhaps relate. While the husband works to fit in at his new job, the wife is often left feeling isolated as Mallory was. It can be difficult to step out of that comfort zone and meet new people. I liked that Mallory set up a blog to document her journey of discovery. Mallory’s three-year-old stepson, Nick, was a little charmer and reminded me of some of the young boys at my church.

Although Mallory left Washington, D.C., the politicking of the city was still a heavy influence in Mallory’s life. For this reason, she was suspicious of many of the people she met in Moses Lake. It was her political instincts that led her to uncover the scandal of this small town. One of her lines towards the end was, “When something’s wrong, ordinary people have to speak up.”

I’ll be honest: I’m not a fan of novels about married couples. I don’t know why. After all, I’ve been married for 14 years. So I actually surprised myself by signing up to receive a copy of Firefly Island to review. Perhaps it was the mystery element that grabbed me, and I’m happy that it did. This book is so full of twists and turns that I didn’t find out what exactly the scandal was until the very end. My imagination went one way and then another. It stays away from the cliché of someone being abducted at gunpoint and being threatened with murder if they don’t keep their mouth shut, but that doesn’t mean Firefly Island lacks excitement. It also has moments of humor, particularly where Mallory’s adventures with various rodents are concerned.

Firefly Island is the third in the Moses Lake series by Lisa Wingate. Characters from the previous two books are mentioned, but this novel can be enjoyed without having read them. In fact, I’d not read them and I didn’t feel like I had missed anything important or relative to the story. Looking at my Goodreads history, I note that I’d given another book by Lisa Wingate three out of five back in 2010. Firefly Island is definitely a five out of five.

Click here to download a pdf file of the first chapter from the publisher’s website

Read a Q & A with Lisa Wingate

Publisher: Bethany House

Publication Date: January 2013

Page Count: 384

Read more on:   Lisa Wingate’s Website   Bethany House’s Website

Purchase on:   Amazon   Barnes & Noble   Christianbook.com      

Win a copy of Firefly Island!

The necessary stuff aka ‘the fine print’

  1. This is only open to residents of the lower 48 states of the USA due to mailing costs.
  2. Book will be mailed via USPS media mail with delivery confirmation.
  3. Your full name and mailing address will only be used to mail your prize. After I receive confirmation of delivery that information will be deleted. It will never be given or sold to a third party.
  4. You must be 18 or older to enter.
  5. This contest runs from Wednesday, May 01, 2013 until 11:59 EDT on Wednesday, 15 May, 2013. Entries submitted after this date will not be accepted. The winner will be announced via Twitter.
  6. Comments left on this post are not considered entries and will not increase your chances of winning.

Thank you to Bethany House for my free copy of Firefly Island, which I received in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

