To Capture Her Heart, by Rebecca DeMarino

book coverPublisher’s Overview:

In an uncertain time, she faces a choice that will change her life forever

It is 1653 and Heather Flower, a princess of the Montaukett tribe, is celebrating her wedding feast when a rival tribe attacks, killing the groom and kidnapping her. Though her ransom is paid by an Englishman, she is bound by her captors and left to die–until she finds herself rescued by handsome Dutch Lieutenant Dirk Van Buren.

Still tender from her loss, Heather Flower begins to heal in the home of the Hortons, English friends of her people. Torn between her affection for Dirk and her longtime friendship with Ben Horton, Heather Flower must make a difficult choice–stay true to her friend or follow her heart.

Exploring a unique slice of history, Rebecca DeMarino transports you to the wild land that would eventually become Long Island, New York. 

Read on for my review, and also for information about a giveaway Rebecca DeMarino is having to celebrate the release of her newest book.

My Take:

Rebecca DeMarino takes her readers back to colonial Long Island for the second book in her Southold Chronicles. It’s been 13 years since we last saw the Horton family in A Place in His Heart. Barnabas and Mary have additional children and their eldest sons are making their way into the world as adults. They’ve formed good relationships with other white colonists and also a couple of the native tribes.  The Anglo-Dutch war back in Europe, however, causes difficulties with nearby Dutch settlers. Their disagreements often leave the natives caught in the middle. Young Indian woman, Heather Flower, is the focus of dueling affections from an Englishman and a Dutchman. Which one will she choose? What impact will her decision have on relations between the European communities?

contest capture her heartWhile I was interested in the lives of the 17th century colonialists and their allies, I found the book as a whole to be only mildly satisfying. I think this is because I was disappointed by the ending, which didn’t turn out as I’d hoped. I felt the narrative had been leading in one direction, but then took a sudden sharp turn. None of the characters seemed to show the slightest emotion at the development, and a couple even suggested they had expected what I had not. There was no dramatic finale, in my opinion, and I was actually left thinking, “Was that it?” I’m hoping book three of the series will be better. There’s an excerpt included at the end of To Capture Her Heart and it appears one of my favorite minor characters will be involved in some high drama.

Thank you to Revell for my complimentary copy of To Capture Her Heart, which I received in exchange for my honest review.

Have you read To Capture Her Heart? Do you plan to read it? Let me know your thoughts.

Excerpt

Publisher: Revell (a division of Baker Publishing)

Publication Date: 07 July 2015

Page Count: 352

Read more on:   Rebecca DeMarino’s Website   Revell’s Website

Purchase on:   Amazon   Barnes & Noble   Books-a-million   Christianbook.com

2 thoughts on “To Capture Her Heart, by Rebecca DeMarino

  1. I’ve read both novels in The Southold Chronicles. I liked them well enough, but they turned out to be a little more so-so than I was anticipating. I’m on the fence about whether I’ll read the next or not. I’m a little nervous the story may fall pretty flat again–but that minor character is my favorite character of everyone in the series, and I don’t exactly wish to miss what happens. 🙂

  2. Pingback: To Follow Her Heart, by Rebecca DeMarino | Proverbial Reads

Leave a Reply

