Until My Name is Known, by Sonya Contreras

book coverPublisher’s Overview:

The Exodus of the Jews from Egypt is a love story between God and His people. God woos His people to Himself as He prepares them to leave. Before leaving, God must fight Pharaoh for possession of His people. See how God changes all people: some for the better, others not. None stay the same. How will He change you? Can you trust a God Who destroyed a nation before your eyes? Would you want Him as your Friend? See God free His people from Egypt s bonds Before a watching world. Trace His Finger in the lives He touches. The Time: 2450 BC The Place: Old Kingdom of Egypt Pharaoh is god. His people worship him. Israel s God arrives. He challenges Pharaoh. His power touches all people. They must change. Some do not concede. They suffer. Others yield. They find freedom. Until My Name Is Known brings all to see the one true God. Read it to see Him. Today’s historians and archaeologists puzzle over the fall of the Old Kingdom of Egypt, But the world at that time heard of God. The world knew that He is the Lord. His Name was proclaimed in all the earth. Book One of the series Tell of My Kingdom’ s Glory.

My Take:

It seems that the Exodus tale has been popular fiction fodder this year, as this is the third I’ve read involving Moses. Until My Name is Known comes from a new to me author and starts with Moses recounting his meeting with God at the burning bush. The narrative doesn’t stay with Moses, however, and we soon get perspectives from his wife Zipporah, his brother Aaron, and various Hebrews and Egyptians as they experience the plagues God sends to the land. It’s possible there were too many voices though; I had to reread sections sometimes in order to remember a particular person and their relationship to another. A list of characters – especially of those who aren’t in the Bible – at the start might have been helpful.

Much of what’s written is based on Biblical text and imagination where the fictional characters are concerned. But I admit to being surprised at some of the suppositions Contreras made. Aaron is described as a doctor, while Joseph was supposedly the great Egyptian architect Imhotep. Interestingly, I found no mention of Miriam, the sister of Aaron and Moses. The theme throughout the book is that Pharaoh doesn’t care for his people. He lets them suffer through each plague out of pride. How can a man who thinks he is a god surrender to another God?

Until My Name is Known is a readable novel and I certainly didn’t have any reluctance to finish it. I did spot a couple of errors that made it through the editing process, but they weren’t enough to throw the book across the room! I do need to admit something though: I signed up to read and review this book without doing research on it first. I looked up Bull Head Press after receiving my copy and found the only company officer I could locate is the author. It’s my view, therefore, that this is self-published and I have a long-standing policy of not reviewing self-published works. I also believe, however, in honoring commitments. Book two in this new series is called I Have Called You by Name, but I’m not sure if I’ll read it. Until My Name is Known doesn’t end on a cliffhanger and works well as a standalone piece of Biblically-based fiction.

Thank you to Litfuse Publicity Group and Bull Head Press for my complimentary copy of Until My Name Is Known, which I received in exchange for my honest review.

Have you read Until My Name is Known? Do you plan to read it? Let me know your thoughts.

Publisher: Bull Head Press

Publication Date: 04 July 2015

Page Count: 267

Read more on:   Sonya Contreras’ Website   Bull Head Press’ Website

Purchase on:   Amazon   Barnes & Noble   Books-a-million

Leave a Reply

