My Brother’s Crown, by Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould

book coverPublisher’s Overview:

France, 1685. Catherine Gillet knows her brother, Jules, wants to protect her from the sinister threats of the French crown. But Jules is involved in a potentially deadly enterprise, one connected with an encoded document. When his actions put the whole family at risk, will Catherine find a way to save them?

Virginia, present day. Renee Talbot, a direct descendant of Catherine’s, is fascinated by the document that’s been part of her family legacy for more than three centuries. Certain its pages hold hidden secrets, she takes a closer look—and makes a shocking discovery. But when memories of a childhood trauma are rekindled, she’s forced to seek answers of a different kind. Inspired by the faith and bravery of Catherine, can Renee find the truth and face her deepest fears at last?

From the authors of the Christy Award–winning The Amish Midwife comes an epic story of two women, centuries apart, each discovering her own hidden bravery, standing for what she believes in, and finding love in unexpected places.

My Take:

I don’t recall reading any previous novels about the persecution of the Huguenots in France, but I’ve learned about it in the context of genealogical research. It appears it was a time when the fate of Protestants and other dissenters depended on who was on the throne. In 1685, Louis XIV reigned and issued an edict in effect banning Protestant groups and churches. Existing churches were to be destroyed. Soldiers could be billeted in Protestant homes. Protestants could only emigrate in secret. This is the background to My Brother’s Crown.

Perhaps it was the formatting of the electronic text, but I found it difficult to really get into this novel. The segments set in Lyon plodded along and I thought they were boring. It showed what daily life was like for the Huguenots, but I didn’t get any real sense of danger from it. That only changed towards the end when Catherine didn’t know who to trust and was consequently betrayed. In contrast, however, I was very interested in the contemporary track involving a possible murder. I even enjoyed the romantic element it contained. My disappointment there was that it didn’t seem to be resolved by the book’s end.

My Brother’s Crown is not the first collaboration between Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould, but it is a marked departure from their previous contemporary Amish novels. It’s the first of a new series called Cousins of the Dove, but I don’t know if future books will contain the same characters or not.

Thank you to Harvest House for my complimentary electronic review copy of My Brother’s Crown. I was not required to write a review.

Have you read My Brother’s Crown? Do you plan to read it? Let me know your thoughts.

Publisher: Harvest House

Publication Date: 01 October 2015

Page Count: 368

Read more on:   Mindy Starns Clark’s Website   Leslie Gould’s Website   Harvest House’s Website

Purchase on:   Amazon   Barnes & Noble   Books-a-million   Christianbook.com

Leave a Reply

