Sister Eve and the Blue Nun, by Lynne Hinton

book coverPublisher’s Overview:

When Sister Eve returns to the monastery, the last thing she expects there is murder.

After solving several mysteries with her father at the Divine Private Detective Agency, Sister Eve finds herself torn between her calling as a nun and the thrill that comes with detecting. She knows she’s been using her father’s health as an excuse to extend her leave of absence from the monastery, but that excuse is running thin. She prays that a return visit to the monastery for a conference on the Blue Nun will help bring clarity to her calling, but when the conference speaker is murdered, Sister Eve’s two worlds collide.

Sister Eve knows the number one suspect, the victim’s brother and monk in residence, couldn’t possibly have committed the crime, and she’s determined to find the real killer. To do so means she must track down some mysterious newly discovered writings from the Blue Nun, said to date from the 17th Century, when the sister bi-located to the New Mexico region from her home in Spain. Could these texts from long ago be the key to today’s mystery? And will they offer any guidance to Sister Eve as she chooses which calling to follow?

My Take:

Meet Sister Evangeline Divine. She doesn’t wear a habit but she does ride a motorbike, and she’s the daughter of a retired police captain. This is also the third book in which she’s appeared, being part of the Divine Private Detective Agency series. It’s the first one I’ve read and right now, I’m not sure if that’s a good or a bad thing. I’m not sure if I even like her a whole lot. Throughout the book she came across as sneaky and someone who hides the truth. She’s so determined to prove that her friend is innocent that she doesn’t know when to leave well enough alone. She interferes with important evidence and sets off on a hair-brained trip that almost gets her killed.

There are good parts to the book. I liked the glimpse at the workings of the monastery and the setting of New Mexico. I’d not heard of the Blue Nun – formally known as Mary of Jesus of Ágreda – previously, although I had heard of bilocation, so that was a fascinating element. I also liked Captain Jackson Divine, Eve’s father. He knows his stuff and he acts tough, but there’s a definite caring side to him. I don’t know the backstory of his relationship with Eve or why she calls him Captain, but I presume that was probably covered in the first book.

I’d probably learn more about what makes Eve tick if I read the first two books in the series, and maybe I’d like her more. But, the truth is there are so many other books I want to read, I’m just not sure I want to spend the time on them.

Thank you to Thomas Nelson and the TNZ Fiction Guild for my complimentary copy of Sister Eve and the Blue Nun, which I received in exchange for my honest review.

Have you read Sister Eve and the Blue Nun? Do you plan to read it? Let me know your thoughts.

Excerpt

Publisher: Thomas Nelson (a division of HarperCollins Christian)

Publication Date: 17 May 2016

Page Count: 336

Read more on:   Lynne Hinton’s Website   Thomas Nelson’s Website

Purchase on:   Amazon   Barnes & Noble   Books-a-million   Christianbook.com

One thought on “Sister Eve and the Blue Nun, by Lynne Hinton

  1. I enjoyed the first two books more than the third. The second book is really good. The captain is one of my favorite characters and his role is larger in book one and two. Overall, I enjoyed the series and would love to visit the small town where Sister Eve is from.

Leave a Reply

